Delaware DUI Attorneys
Get Help From a Delaware DUI Lawyer or Attorney
If you have been charged with a DUI in Delaware (Driving Under the Influence), there are two things that you need to consider:
Take your drunk driving charge very seriously.
Hire an experienced Delaware DUI Lawyer or DUI Attorney who is experienced in Delaware DUI law.
Each Delaware DUI lawyer at DUI.com offers an initial review of your drunk driving charge. Your inquiry is both free and confidential.
To begin fighting your drunk driving charge, use the list above to locate a Delaware DUI Lawyer in your county who knows the Delaware DUI laws. But do it now, as time is very critical in a DUI case.
What Happens To First Time Offenders in Delaware?Delaware First OffenderYou are DUI in Delaware if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .10% or greater.First Offense PenaltiesJailUp to 6 months in jail.Fines$230 to $1150 in fines.
Other Fines/ Fees/ Expenses
The State estimates that the real costs to you of a first offense dui charge are as much as $2,400. This does not include lawyer’s fees, the increase in your insurance rates, time and money lost from work, finding alternative transportation, or any potential medical bills resulting from a DUI crash. In addition to the above penalties and costs, DUIs costs you $143.75 to get your license back and $490.00 to take an alcohol program.
1st offense -license revoked up to 12 months.
Available on a 1st offense after 90 day minimum suspension period. Alcohol interlock may be also be required for conditional licensing.
May be required for conditional licensing. Alcohol Ignition Interlock (installed and used at your own expense) is a device that prevents you from operating your car if you have any alcohol in your system.
If you drive with a blood alcohol level of .02% or more, you could face up to 1 year in prison and a fine of $230 for the first offense. At the least, you will lose your license automatically for 2 months on a first offense.
First offenders take a 16-hour administrative course for $125. With a .20% BAC or greater, you will take a 25-hour treatment program at an outpatient treatment center, a mental health alternative program, or a “21 and under” program. Cost is $490. Programs are mandatory.
Are you Really a First Offender?
In Delaware, the period of time in which a judge or administrator can review an offender’s record (the “look-back” period) is your entire lifetime. This means that you may have had a DUI from decades ago, even in another state, which may prevent you from getting First Offender status, thus exposing you to higher penalties.
Your insurance rates will probably climb considerably, and your insurance carrier may drop you. The rates for family members and sometimes your employer can increase as well.
More Serious Charges
You may be charged with felony DUI (possibly leading to much greater penalties) if you are involved in a crash involving serious injury or death.