Get help from a Mississippi DUI Lawyer
Find a Mississippi DUI Attorney in your area below or by calling (800) 852-8005
If you have been charged with a DUI in Mississippi (Driving Under the Influence), there are two things that you need to consider:
Take your drunk driving charge very seriously.
A conviction for a DUI in Mississippi will have long lasting consequences. A criminal record can affect your employment, your future and your personal freedom.
Hire an experienced Mississippi DUI Lawyer or DUI Attorney who is experienced in Mississippi DUI law.
Understanding the Mississippi DUI laws and courtroom proceedings can be a challenge. Hiring a qualified Mississippi DUI attorney or lawyer from DUI.com who’s practice concentrates on drunk driving defense can make a difference in the outcome of your drunk driving charge. Again, for a Mississippi DUI lawyers or attorneys, call 1-800-852-8005 or simply click the county above to find the right Mississippi DUI attorney that really knows drunk driving defense and the Mississippi DUI law.
Each Mississippi DUI lawyer at DUI.com offers an initial review of your drunk driving charge. Your inquiry is both free and confidential.
To begin fighting your drunk driving charge, use the list above to locate a Mississippi DUI Lawyer in your county who knows the Mississippi DUI laws. But do it now, as time is very critical in a DUI case.
Mississippi First Offender
You are DUI in Mississippi if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was .08% or greater. For any person under the age of 21 the limit is .02% and for operators of commercial vehicles the limit is .04%.
First Offender Penalties
Not more than forty-eight (48) hours in jail. The court may substitute attendance at a victim impact panel instead of forty-eight hours in jail.
Not less than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00).
Your driver’s license and driving privileges will be suspended for a period of not less than ninety (90) days and until you attend and successfully complete an alcohol safety education program (see below). Suspension not to exceed one (1) year. Reinstatement fee: $100.
1st offenders attend a four week course: 2.5 hours per day, 1 day per week (10 hours total). Cost: $100.
At any time after at least thirty (30) days of suspension for a first offense violation, the court may grant you hardship driving privileges, if it finds reasonable cause to believe that revocation would hinder your ability to (a) continue employment, (b) continue attending school or an educational institution, or (c) obtain necessary medical care.
If you are under age 21 and had a BAC between .02% and .08%, your license will be suspended for 90 days, and you may be fined up to $250.00 (first offense). The court will order you to attend and complete an alcohol safety education program (see above). The court may also require attendance at a victim impact panel.
Failure to submit to a requested test will result in a license suspension of 90 days for a first offense. Your license will be suspended, even if you are later found “not guilty” in court. Any driver failing to submit to a requested test will be charged with DUI.
Your insurance rates will probably increase significantly, and rates for family members and in some cases for your employer, may increase as well.
More Serious Charges
You may be charged with felony DUI if you are involved in a crash involving serious injury or death.
Call (800) 852-8005