Get help from a Oregon DUI Lawyer
Find a Oregon DUI Attorney in your area below or by calling (800) 852-8005
After a DUI in Oregon, there are two things that you need to consider:
Take your drunk driving charge very seriously.
A conviction for a DUI in Oregon will have long lasting consequences. A criminal record can affect your employment, your future and your personal freedom.
Hire an experienced Oregon DUI Lawyer or DUI Attorney who is experienced in Oregon DUI law.
Understanding the Oregon DUI laws and courtroom proceedings can be a challenge. Hiring a qualified Oregon DUI attorney or lawyer from DUI.com who’s practice concentrates on drunk driving defense can make a difference in the outcome of your drunk driving charge. Again, for a Oregon DUI lawyers or attorneys, call (800) 852-8005 or simply click the county above to find the right Oregon DUI attorney that really knows drunk driving defense and the Oregon DUI law.
Each Oregon DUI lawyer at DUI.com offers an initial review of your drunk driving charge. Your inquiry is both free and confidential.
To begin fighting your drunk driving charge, use the list above to locate a Oregon DUI Lawyer in your county who knows the Oregon DUI laws. But do it now, as time is very critical in a DUI case.
What Happens To First Time Offenders in Oregon?
There are about 25,000 DUI Offenses in Oregon EVERY year
For Driving Under the Influence in Oregon, the minimum penalty is two days in jail OR a minimum of 80 hours of community service and a $1000 fine.
Usually you will be fined between $500 and $1,000. If you have no prior convictions for DUII and you meet other qualification requirements you may be eligible for a diversion program. Participation in a diversion program or conviction for a DUII will be noted on your driving record and your insurance company will have access to that record. If you are eligible for the diversion program you now have to plead guilty to the DUII charge to get the benefits of diversion and if you fail diversion you will not get a trial but will be sentenced. Also a mandatory attendance at a one day victims impact program. (Lincoln County Victim Impact Panel)
There is an automatic license suspension for being stopped and arrested. This is called an administive license suspension (APS). You have 10 calendar days from the date of arrest to attempt to stop this license suspension from DMV. The Admin suspension is independent of what happens in court.
If you take the breath test in Oregon and fail it, you will be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles for at least 90 day.
DUI Facts In Oregon
Fatal and injury traffic crashes decreased from their highest point in 1996, when 25,024 crashes occurred, to 18,512 in 2000. The fatal and injury crash rate for Oregon (crashes per million vehicle miles traveled) has declined from 0.86 in 1990 to 0.53 in 2000.
Nighttime fatal and injury crashes have decreased by 33% from 3,567 in 1990 to 2,391 in 2000.
The percentage of fatalities that were determined to be alcohol-related has decreased from 45.8% in 1990 to 38.6% in 2000.
DUII offenses have decreased 17.5% from a high of 30,704 in 1990 to 25,349 in 2000, while Oregonâ€™s population increased 17.3% during the same period.
DUII arrests for drugs, other than alcohol, have increased from 104 in 1990 to 744 in 2000. This marked increase is due, in part, to the Drug Recognition Expert Program which trains officers to recognize impairment due to intoxicants other than alcohol.
The percentage of breath test refusals decreased from 18.4% in 1990 to 11.9% in 2000.
The number of diversion agreements has decreased slightly from 14,982 in 1990 to 12,710 in 2000.
DUII convictions have decreased from their highest point in 1991, when 12,905 offenders were convicted of DUII, to 9,496 in 2000. The percent of convictions that were for a third or subsequent DUII has decreased from 6.6% in 1990 to 5.7% in 2000.
The number of treatment enrollments for persons convicted of DUII has decreased from 6,891 in 1990 to 6,175 in 2000. In 2000, 98.5% of the enrollments were in Level II or II+ treatment programs.
Fatalities of youth under 21 years of age have decreased from 143 in 1990 to 106 in 2000. This figure has increased significantly from 77 in 1999. There were 30 alcohol-related fatalities reported for youth under 21 in 2000.
Minor in Possession (MIP) citations numbered 13,267 in 1990 and decreased to 8,994 by 2000. In 2000, 1,784 juveniles were actually denied their license privileges.
Source: Transportation Safety Division – DUI Control System Performance Measures for Orgeon 1990-2000
Call (800) 852-8005