Get Help From a North Dakota DUI Lawyer or Attorney
Click on your county below or by calling 1-800-852-8005 to find a North Dakota DUI lawyer, but hurry time is important.
If you have been charged with a DUI in North Dakota (Driving Under the Influence), there are two things that you need to consider:
Take your drunk driving charge very seriously.
A conviction for a DUI in North Dakota will have long lasting consequences. A criminal record can affect your employment, your future and your personal freedom.
Hire an experienced North Dakota DUI Lawyer or DUI Attorney who is experienced in North Dakota DUI law.
Understanding the North Dakota DUI laws and courtroom proceedings can be a challenge. Hiring a qualified North Dakota DUI attorney or lawyer from DUI.com who’s practice concentrates on drunk driving defense can make a difference in the outcome of your drunk driving charge. Again, for a North Dakota DUI lawyers or attorneys, call 1-800-852-8005 or simply click the county above to find the right North Dakota DUI attorney that really knows drunk driving defense and the North Dakota DUI law.
Each North Dakota DUI lawyer at DUI.com offers an initial review of your drunk driving charge. Your inquiry is both free and confidential.
To begin fighting your drunk driving charge, use the list above to locate a North Dakota DUI Lawyer in your county who knows the North Dakota DUI laws. But do it now, as time is very critical in a DUI case.
North Dakota First Offender
You are DUI/ in North Dakota if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher. A first offender is someone with no DUI or related charge in the last seven years.
Penalties for Driving Under the Influence (first offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor)
First offense is rarely punishable by imprisonment. There is no mandatory minimum jail punishment, and you may not receive jail time unless your BAC was .15% or higher.
A fine of $250 to $1000, with a mandatory minimum of $250.
Your driving privileges will be revoked for not less than 91 days on a first offense with a BAC of between .08% and .17, and 180 days if your BAC was .18 or higher. Reinstatement Fee: $50
The court may issue an order permitting you to drive to your job or to attend a court-ordered counseling program. Work Permit is allowable only on 1st offense. Cost $50.
Assessment / Treatment
In North Dakota results of an alcohol assessment are provided to the judge/administrator presiding over your case and to the Drivers License & Traffic Safety Division. The offender is referred to treatment on the basis of the assessment by order of the court. There is no legally mandated treatment period for first offenders.
If you refuse a breath, blood or urine test, you will lose your driver license for one year, if this is your first refusal. Refusal can be set aside only if you has never been convicted of a DUI. You can lose your license just for refusing to take the test even though you may not have been drinking at all.
If you are under 21 and had at least .02% of alcohol in your blood while in control of a motor vehicle, you will lose their license for six months.
Refusing to submit to a chemical test can result in a one year revocation of your license.
A conviction can significantly increase not only your own insurance rates, but possibly those of your family members, and perhaps even of your employer.
Even Greater Penalties
Even greater penalties are applicable if your DUI involved an accident, injury, or death.
Call (800) 852-8005