Get help from a Rhode Island DUI Lawyer
Find a Rhode Island DUI Attorney in your area below or by calling (800) 852-8005
If you have been charged with a DUI in Rhode Island (Driving Under the Influence), there are two things that you need to consider:
Take your drunk driving charge very seriously.
A conviction for a DUI in Rhode Island will have long lasting consequences. A criminal record can affect your employment, your future and your personal freedom.
Hire an experienced Rhode Island DUI Lawyer or DUI Attorney who is experienced in Rhode Island DUI law.
Understanding the Rhode Island DUI laws and courtroom proceedings can be a challenge. Hiring a qualified Rhode Island DUI attorney or lawyer from DUI.com who’s practice concentrates on drunk driving defense can make a difference in the outcome of your drunk driving charge. Again, for a Rhode Island DUI lawyers or attorneys, call 1-800-852-8005 or simply click the county above to find the right Rhode Island DUI attorney that really knows drunk driving defense and the Rhode Island DUI law.
Each Rhode Island DUI lawyer at DUI.com offers an initial review of your drunk driving charge. Your inquiry is both free and confidential.
To begin fighting your drunk driving charge, use the list above to locate a Rhode Island DUI Lawyer in your county who knows the Rhode Island DUI laws. But do it now, as time is very critical in a DUI case.
Rhode Island First Offender
You are DUI in Rhode Island if your blood alcohol content is .08% or higher. Under 21, you are DUI with any alcohol content at all in your system.
$100 to $300 fine. ($500 if your BAC is over .15%). Also, a $500 highway safety assessment.
3- to 6-month license suspension. Reinstatement Fee is $50.
10 to 60 hours on a 1st offense at the discretion of the court. 10 hours are mandatory.
Conducted by Community College of Rhode Island through referral.
Education / Treatment
Based on assessment, you will take a driving school or alcohol-drug treatment. The class involves 10 hours of classroom instruction at a cost of $250, which includes the assessment fee. According to assessment determination, you may be required to complete an intensive outpatient treatment program with monitoring. Cost varies and you must pay.
If you refuse to take a chemical test, your license will be suspended for a minimum of ninety (90) days. You are also subject to a fine, a highway safety assessment, public community service, drunk driving school and/or an alcohol treatment program.
For drivers 21 years of age or older, test results that show a blood alcohol content (BAC) in excess of 0.05 but less than .08, can be convicted of DWI (driving while impaired) if there is other evidence that you were driving under the influence of alcohol.
A BAC level as low as 0.02% (which is less than one beer for most people) can result in the loss of your driver’s license, a fine of up to $150, and community service of up to 100 hours.
Juvenal Drunk Driving (Under 18, First Offender)
Penalties for a BAC of .10% or more include:
6- to 18-month license suspension, $500 maximum highway safety assessment, 10 to 60 hours of community service, alcohol or drug treatment or $250 driving school, and time in family court with your parent(s).
Penalties for a BAC at least 0.02% but less than 0.10% include:
a 6-month license suspension, a $150 highway safety assessment or community service, and the Family Court Judge may order “Driving While Intoxicated” course and/or alcohol-drug treatment.
DUI for Age 18 to 21
Penalties for a First Offender with a BAC at least 0.02% but less than 0.10% include:
a 1- to 3-month license suspension, a $100 fine, a $150 highway safety assessment, 30 hours community service, attend a “Driving While Intoxicated” course. You may take part in alcohol-drug treatment at the judge’s discretion.
Your insurance rates will probably rise considerably, and the rates of you family members, or even in some cases your employer, may rise as well.
Even Greater Penalties
You are subject to even greater penalties if you had a DUI related crash that involved serious injury or death.
Call (800) 852-8005