Get help from a South Dakota DUI Lawyer
Find a South Dakota DUI Attorney in your area below or by calling (800) 852-8005
If you have been charged with a DUI in South Dakota (Driving Under the Influence), there are two things that you need to consider:
Take your drunk driving charge very seriously.
A conviction for a DUI in South Dakota will have long lasting consequences. A criminal record can affect your employment, your future and your personal freedom.
Hire an experienced South Dakota DUI Lawyer or DUI Attorney who is experienced in South Dakota DUI law.
Understanding the South Dakota DUI laws and courtroom proceedings can be a challenge. Hiring a qualified South Dakota DUI attorney or lawyer from DUI.com who’s practice concentrates on drunk driving defense can make a difference in the outcome of your drunk driving charge. Again, for a South Dakota DUI lawyers or attorneys, call 1-800-852-8005 or simply click the county above to find the right South Dakota DUI attorney that really knows drunk driving defense and the South Dakota DUI law.
Each South Dakota DUI lawyer at DUI.com offers an initial review of your drunk driving charge. Your inquiry is both free and confidential.
To begin fighting your drunk driving charge, use the list above to locate a South Dakota DUI Lawyer in your county who knows the South Dakota DUI laws. But do it now, as time is very critical in a DUI case.
South Dakota First Offender
You are DUI/DWI in South Dakota if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher. However, you can have a BAC level of between .05% and .08%, you still be charged with driving under the influence.
Penalties for Driving Under the Influence (first offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor)
First offense is punishable by imprisonment up to one year, with no mandatory minimum. Plea agreements and probation are generally available to first offenders.
A fine from $1,000 to $5000, with no mandatory minimum.
Your driving privileges will be revoked for not less than thirty days. The court may revoke your driving privilege for a longer period not to exceed one year or restrict the privilege in such manner as it sees fit for a period not to exceed one year.
The court may issue an order permitting you to drive for purposes relating to your job or to attend a court-ordered counseling program.
8 hours of classroom instruction at a cost of $150.
If you refuse a breath, blood or urine test, you will lose your driver license for up to one year, unless a hearing determines otherwise. You can lose your license just for refusing to take the test even though you may not have been drinking at all. Your license can be confiscated immediately by the officer.
Anyone under 21 who has at least .02% of alcohol in their blood while in control of a motor vehicle can lose their license for 6 months.
Upon conviction of DWI, you must present an SR-22 “insurance filing” to the Department of Public Safety and maintain this insurance for 3 years from the conviction date of the violation.
A conviction can significantly increase not only your own insurance rates, but possibly those of your family members, and perhaps even of your employer.
Call (800) 852-8005