Fairmont DUI Charges
Being charged with a DUI in Marion County, West Virginia can be a terrifying experience, no matter if it is your first or third time being charged with the crime. Individuals charged with DUI arrests find them unanticipated, undesirable, embarrassing and they typically find themselves facing very strict penalties including large fines and the possibility of jail time. While a simple accusation can leave a person feeling stressed out and overwhelmed by a Marion County DUI charge, the Fairmont DUI lawyer of the Glass Defense Firm is here to help. Using his vast experience, extensive training, and superior reputation, he guides each and every one of his clients through the West Virginia court system, working towards his goal of getting his clients the best possible case outcome. If you have been charged with a DUI, call the Fairmont DUI lawyer of the Glass Defense Firm today at (304) 933-9883 to schedule a free consultation with an experienced, knowledgeable attorney.
About Jason M. Glass
Fairmont DUI lawyer Jason M. Glass received his Juris Doctorate from the West Virginia University College of Law. Mr. Glass found himself drawn to criminal defense as a student at WVU. In order to gain experience in the field he spent time as a clerk at local criminal defense firms. Upon his graduation in 2005, Mr. Glass began representing clients accused of various criminal offenses, focusing heavily on DUI defense.
Since graduating from WVU, Fairmont DUI lawyer Jason M. Glass has handled more than 500 DUI cases throughout the state of West Virginia. He has handled many administrative license suspension hearings and has comprehensive experience appealing adverse rulings made by the DMV.
Mr. Glass is a member of the National College for DUI Defense, the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, the West Virginia Bar Association, and he is the founding member of the West Virginia DUI Defense Lawyers Association.
West Virginia Drunk Driving Penalties
In the state of West Virginia, your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of your arrest is what determines the severity of your DUI charge. First time offenders arrested with a BAC of between 0.08% – 0.15% are typically charged with a “normal” DUI. A conviction of a normal DUI will result in the accused facing up to 6 months in prison, a fine of between $100 – $500, and the possibility of losing their license for 6 months. The license suspension’s length can be reduced with the completion of DUI classes and by enrolling in West Virginia’s ignition interlock program.
A first time offender who is arrested with a BAC of 0.15% or higher will be charged with what is called an “aggravated” DUI. A conviction will result in the accused facing jail time for a minimum of 48 days and with a maximum of up to 6 months. They may also be fined between $200 – $1,000 and receive a 45 day license suspension. Once the 45 day license suspension is over, they will be required to participate in the ignition interlock program for 9 months following the end of the license suspension.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Marion County, it is imperative you speak with a Fairmont DUI lawyer as soon as possible. The Fairmont DUI lawyer of the Glass Defense Firm takes the time to tailor a defense specifically to his client’s case in order to give them the best chance at receiving the best possible case outcome. In order to schedule a free case consultation with an experienced and knowledgeable Fairmont DUI lawyer, call the Glass Defense Firm today at (304) 933-9883.
The Glass Defense Firm practices throughout Fairmont, Mannington, Pleasant Valley, Fairview, Barrackville, Farmington, Grant Town, Monongah, Rivesville, Whitehall, and Worthington.