No matter if you are a first or third time offender, facing driving under the influence (DUI) charges in Lewis County can be a frightening experience. DUI arrests are unanticipated, undesirable, embarrassing, and can lead to strict penalties including large fines and possibly even jail time. While you might be feeling stressed and overwhelmed by your Lewis County DUI charge, the Weston DUI lawyer of the Glass Defense Firm is here to help. He will guide you through the West Virginia court system, using his vast experience, extensive training, and superior reputation to achieve the best possible outcome in your case. Contact the Weston DUI lawyer of the Glass Defense Firm today at (304) 933-9883 to schedule a free consultation.
About Jason M. Glass
Weston DUI lawyer Jason M. Glass received his Juris Doctorate from the West Virginia University College of Law. While a student at WVU, Mr. Glass found himself drawn to criminal defense. In order to begin gaining experience in the field he spent time clerking at local criminal defense firms. Upon graduation he began representing clients accused of various criminal offenses, focusing heavily on citizens of West Virginia who have been accused of DUI.
Since graduating from WVU, Weston DUI lawyer Jason M. Glass has handled more than 500 DUI cases throughout the state of West Virgina. He has handled many administrative license suspension hearings and has comprehensive experience appealing adverse rulings made by the DMV.
Mr. Glass is a member of the National College for DUI Defense, National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, the West Virginia Bar Association, and he is the founding member of the West Virginia DUI Defense Lawyers Association.
West Virginia Drunk Driving Penalties
In the state of West Virginia, any penalties you may be facing as a result of a DUI charge depends on your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of your arrest. If you are a first time offender who is arrested with a BAC of 0.08% – 0.15% you are facing a “normal” DUI charge in West Virginia. If you are found guilty you face up to 6 months in prison and a fine of $100-$500. Furthermore, you may be facing a 6 month license suspension. The length of your license suspension can be reduced with the completion of DUI classes and by enrolling in West Virginia’s ignition interlock program.
If you are arrested with a BAC of 0.15% or higher you are facing what is known as an aggravated DUI. If you are found guilty you can be placed in jail for a minimum of 48 days and for up to 6 months. You are also facing a $200-$1,000 fine. Furthermore, your license will be suspended for 45 days with mandatory participation in the ignition interlock program to follow for 9 months.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Lewis County it is imperative you speak with a Weston DUI lawyer as soon as possible. The Weston DUI lawyer of the Glass Defense Firm will take the time to analyze the facts of your case in order to come up with a defense tailored to your specific needs. If you would like to schedule a free consultation with an experienced and knowledgeable Weston DUI lawyer, call the Glass Defense Firm today at (304) 933-9883.
The Glass Defense Firm practices throughout Weston and Jane Lew.