It does not matter if you are a first or third time offender, facing a driving under the influence (DUI) charge in Hancock County, West Virginia can be a terrifying experience. Those who are charged often find DUI arrests unanticipated, undesirable, and embarrassing. Furthermore, a conviction can lead to very strict penalties including large fines and even jail time. While the accused party is almost always left feeling stressed and overwhelmed by their Hancock County DUI charge, the Chester DUI lawyer of the Glass Defense Firm is here to help. He guides his clients through the West Virginia court system using his vast experience, extensive training, and superior reputation. He works hard to achieve his goal, which is to get you the best possible outcome for your case. If you have been charged with a DUI, call the Chester DUI lawyer of the Glass Defense Firm today at (304) 933-9883 to schedule a free consultation.
About Jason M. Glass
Jason M. Glass is a Chester DUI lawyer who received his Juris Doctorate from the West Virginia University College of Law. As a student at WVU, Mr. Glass found himself interested in criminal defense. In order to gain experience in the field he spent time clerking at local criminal defense firms. Upon finishing his Juris Doctorate he began representing clients accused of various criminal offenses with a heavy focus on DUI defense.
Chester DUI lawyer Jason M. Glass has handled more than 500 DUI cases throughout the state of West Virginia since graduating from WVU. He has handled many administrative license suspension hearings and has comprehensive experience appealing adverse rulings made by the DMV.
Mr. Glass is a member of the National College for DUI Defense, the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, the West Virginia Bar Association, and he is the founding member of the West Virginia DUI Defense Lawyers Association.
West Virginia Drunk Driving Penalties
In the state of West Virginia, the severity of your DUI charge is completely dependent on your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of your arrest. First time offenders with a BAC between 0.08% – 0.15% are charged with a normal DUI. Being found guilty will result in the accused facing up to 6 months in prison, a fine between $100 – $500, and the possibility of losing their license for 6 months. The length of a license suspension can be reduced with the completion of DUI classes and by enrolling in West Virginia’s ignition interlock program.
If a first time offender is arrested with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, they will be charged with what is known as an aggravated DUI. If found guilty the accused can be placed in jail for a minimum of 48 days and for up to 6 months, a fine between $200 – $1,000, and a 45 day license suspension. Furthermore, it is mandatory they participate in the ignition interlock program for 9 months following the end of their license suspension.
It is imperative you speak with a Chester DUI lawyer as soon as possible if you have been charged with a DUI in Hancock County. The Glass Defense Firm’s Chester DUI lawyer takes the time to analyze the circumstances of every one of his clients’ cases in order to tailor a defense specifically for them. If you would like to schedule a free consultation with an experienced and knowledgeable Chester DUI lawyer, call the Glass Defense Firm today at (304) 933-9883.
The Glass Defense Firm practices throughout Chester, New Cumberland, and Weirton.