Ohio DUI Attorneys
After a DUI in Ohio, there are two things that you need to consider:
Hire an experienced Ohio DUI Lawyer or DUI Attorney who is experienced in Ohio DUI law.
Each Ohio DUI lawyer at DUI.com offers an initial review of your drunk driving charge. Your inquiry is both free and confidential.
To begin fighting your drunk driving charge, use the list above to locate a Ohio DUI Lawyer in your county who knows the Ohio DUI laws. But do it now, as time is very critical in a DUI case.
Ohio’s D.U.I. Laws
IF YOU DRINK AND DRIVE, YOU ARE COMMITTING A SERIOUS CRIME WHICH HAS SWIFT AND SURE CONSEQUENCES THAT ARE HARD TO IGNORE.
Administrative License Suspension (ALS)
Probationary License Suspension DUI (PD)
The PD will be triggered by a conviction record with an offense date greater than12/31/98, the driver is under the age of 18 at the time of the offense, with a BAC of .08% or above.
Length of Suspension: Six months.
Limited Driving Privileges: There is no provision in the law for driving privileges on this suspension.
You Have the Right to an Administrative Hearing: You are entitled to an Administrative Hearing on this matter;
Your request for a hearing must be made to this Bureau within thirty (30) days of the mailing date of the notice;
After the request is made, you will be notified of the time and place of the hearing. You may appear in person, or you may be represented by an Attorney;
The scope of the hearing is to present evidence and examine witnesses that can show cause why your driving privileges should not be suspended;
After the Administrative Hearing, the Hearing Office will send a recommendation to the BMV. You will be notified by mail.
Conditions for return of full driving privileges:
Serve six month suspension;
Successful completion of Juvenile Driver Improvement Course, approved by the registrar of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles;
Payment of $30 reinstatement fee;
Successful completion of driver license examination.
4th or More Offense or Motor Vehicle Related Felony:
APPEAL PROCESS FOR ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE SUSPENSION (ALS)
The court must hold the administrative license suspension hearing within five days of arrest. The appeal is heard at this initial appearance if requested. The scope of appeal is confined to four issues.
NOTE: A court may still issue a suspension even if 1-4 is proven by defendant if court finds the person is a threat to public safety.
DRIVING UNDER DUI SUSPENSION OR DRIVING UNDER SUSPENSION WITHOUT INSURANCE
The court is authorized to order vehicle immobilization and impoundment of the license plates at the time of sentencing for:
Driving under DUI Suspension
FRA Suspension (without insurance)
Note: For multiple DUI offenders under suspension, the court may also impound the plates of any other vehicle owned by the offender.
PERMITTING A PERSON WITH NO LEGAL RIGHT TO DRIVE OR OPERATE YOUR VEHICLE
First Offense: 30 days for state offenses only.
Permanent loss of vehicle shall be ordered by the court for any of the following which occurs within five years, except “3″:
There is a provision for a court review to protect an innocent vehicle owner from a vehicle forfeiture or immobilization. If forfeiture occurs, offender cannot register or title any vehicle in his or her name for six years.
Click on the county below where your DUI in Ohio occurred, or call (800) 852-8005 to find an Ohio DUI lawyer, but hurry time is important.