New Minnesota DWI Law Goes Into Effect

A new Minnesota DWI law went into effect on January 1 that gives motorists an option to continue driving after an arrest for drunk driving. An ignition interlock device can be installed that measures the blood alcohol content of the driver. If the breath sample is below the pre-set maximum of .02%, the vehicle can be started. The system also requires intermittent samples to continue driving.

Motorists must pay about $300 for the installation of the interlock system and a maintenance and operations fee of more than $100 per month. It is estimated that less than 20 percent of those arrested for DWI in Minnesota will be able to afford the option.

First offenders of driving while intoxicated in Minnesota typically have their licenses suspended for 6 months. Those who agree to install an interlock can begin driving after waiting one month. The cost of having a license reinstated is an additional $700.

Have you been arrested for a MN DWI and are needing quality legal assistance from a qualified Minnesota DWI lawyer?

DUI Attorneys


DUI.com | DWI.com

DUI Attorneys and Lawyers

Speak Your Mind

*