A new law has gone into effect requiring repeat offenders for Missouri DWI to install ignition interlock devices in their vehicles. The breathalyzer-type device tests the blood alcohol content of the driver and disables the vehicle’s ignition if alcohol above a certain level is detected.
Motorists with one conviction for driving while intoxicated in Missouri will be required to install the devices should they be charged with a second or subsequent offense. The installation of the interlock will be a condition for return of driver’s license.
The typical cost to ‘rent’ an ignition interlock device is $65 per month. Installation is $40 and removal is $35. All costs are borne by the MO DWI offender. According to state records, over 100,000 motorists in Missouri are subject to the mandatory installation of the device.
Were you recently arrested for DWI in MO?