Lawmakers in the House chamber of the state General Assembly have passed legislation requiring a jail term of at least 48 hours for all motorists convicted of drunk driving in Tennessee. The measure passed 96-1. The Senate chamber unanimously passed similar legislation last month.
Under current Tennessee DUI laws, a motorist under the age of 21 arrested for driving under the influence must spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail. A motorist older than 21 however is only required to spend at least 24 hours in jail.
The new bill would make the minimum jail term the same, regardless of age. The legislation will be referred to the Senate to work out differences between the two bills, and then presented to the governor.
It is important that if you are arrested for drunk driving in Tennessee that you hire a qualified DUI attorney in Tennessee.