A House committee of the Wyoming legislature is about to debate two bills calling for an increase in penalties for drunk driving. One calls for an increase of the fine for first offense WY DUI from $750 to $1000. A second DUI conviction within five years would be filed as a high misdemeanor, with fines being raised from $750 to $3000 and the minimum jail sentence set at 60 days. Offenders would be given the opportunity to join alcohol treatment or a drug court to reduce the jail term. A third and fourth offense within seven years would call for a $10,000 fine and up to 10 years in prison. A fifth Wyoming DUI within a lifetime would also result in a $10,000 fine and up to 10 years in prison. Currently a fifth offense has to take place within five years to realize a $10,000 fine and only 2 years in prison.
The proposed legislation would count time between offense from the date of arrest for driving under the influence in Wyoming, rather than the date of conviction.
A second measure that also seeks to reduce drunk driving in Wyoming calls for reform of the DUI system, rather than increased penalties. The bill