Georgia DUI Penalties

DUI Lawyers in Georgia
(800) 852-8005

Georgia DUI Stop

WARNING
YOU ONLY HAVE 10 DAYS

from the date of your arrest for DUI in Georgia to request an administrative hearing about your driver’s license. If you do not, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended. For help call (800) 852-8005.

The severity and duration of the penalties for driving under the influence in Georgia increase with each consecutive DUI conviction within a 10 year period. For a free review of your specific case and clarification of potential penalties for GA DUI, contact Athens-Clarke County DUI Lawyer Richard Lawson by calling 770-641-0100.

The following outlines penalties for DUI for adults with a general driver's license. Drivers under the age of 21 face the risk of enhanced penalties, as do holders of commercial driver's licenses.

First Offense – no prior convictions

  • Driver's license suspended for 1 year. Limited permit may be available.
  • Fines – $300-1,000
  • Mandatory Minimum Jail Sentence – 24 hours to 10 days
  • Maximum Jail Time – 1 year
  • Minimum Community Service – 40 hours
  • Mandatory attendance in DUI school
  • Alcohol & Drug Evaluation & Treatment – A likely part of the sentence

Second Offense – within 10 years

  • Driver's license suspended for 3 years. Reinstatement possible after 12 months with installation of ignition interlock device.
  • Fines – $600-1,000
  • Mandatory Minimum Jail Sentence – 72 hours to 90 days
  • Maximum Jail Time – 1 year
  • Minimum Community Service – 30 days
  • Mandatory attendance in DUI school
  • Mandatory Alcohol & Drug Evaluation & Treatment
  • Photo published in local paper
  • Seizure of license plate and auto tag

Third Offense – within 10 years

  • Assigned Habitual Violator Status
  • Driver's license revoked for 10 years. Issuance of a probationary license possible after 24 months, with installation of ignition interlock device.
  • Fines – $1,000 – 5,000
  • Mandatory Minimum Jail Sentence – 15 days to 120 days
  • Maximum Jail Time – 1 year
  • Minimum Community Service – 30 days
  • Mandatory attendance in DUI school
  • Mandatory Alcohol & Drug Evaluation & Treatment
  • Photo published in local paper
  • Seizure of license plate and auto tag

Four or More Offenses – within 10 years

  • Felony charges filed
  • Assigned Habitual Violator Status
  • Driver's license revoked for 10 years. Issuance of a probationary license possible after 24 months, with installation of ignition interlock device.
  • Fines – $1,000 – 5,000
  • Mandatory Minimum Jail Sentence – 90 days to 1 year
  • Maximum Jail Time – 5 years
  • Minimum Community Service – 60 days, unless serving 3 year prison sentence
  • Mandatory attendance in DUI school
  • Mandatory Alcohol & Drug Evaluation & Treatment
  • Photo published in local paper
  • Seizure of license plate and auto tag

Click here for main page on drunk driving in White County, GA. For information on defending against a charge of DUI in Georgia, contact Criminal Defense Lawyer Richard Lawson.

Law Office of Richard S. Lawson
261 W. Crogan St.
Lawrenceville, GA 30045

DUI Attorneys
DUI Lawyers in Georgia

Call (800) 852-8005

DUI Attorneys in Georgia


DUI Attorneys and Lawyers