Florida DUI Conviction

Florida DUI Conviction: Persons Under 21: Required
Suspension

DUI Under 21 Years of Age

Administrative Suspension of Persons Under the Age of 21 for Driving
With an Alcohol Level .02 or Above

Section 322.2616, Florida Statutes, authorizes law enforcement
officers having probable cause to believe that a motor vehicle is being
driven by or is in the actual physical control of a person who is under
the age of 21 while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or who has
any alcohol level may lawfully detain this person and may request them to
submit to a test to determine the alcohol level. This violation is
neither a traffic infraction nor a criminal offense, nor does being
detained under this statute constitute an arrest.

First Suspension for Persons Under the Age of 21 With An Alcohol Level
.02 or above: 6 months. Second or Subsequent Suspensions 1 year.

First Suspension for Refusal to Submit to Breath Test: 1 year. Second
or Subsequent Suspensions for Refusal: 18 months.

The suspension is effective immediately. If the breath or blood
alcohol level is .05 or higher the suspension shall remain in effect
until completion of a substance abuse evaluation and course. The officer
will issue the driver a temporary permit effective 12 hours after
issuance which is valid for 10 days, provided the driver is otherwise
eligible.

Drivers have only 10 days from arrest to request an administrative
hearing to prevent suspension of driver’s licence.

Information above is from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor
Vehicles and should be used as a reference only.

See full Explanation at Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor
Vehicles
http://www.hsmv.state.fl.us/ddl/duilaws.html

DUI Attorneys


DUI.com | DWI.com

Speak Your Mind

*