Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Laws in Illinois

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense that is classified
in this state as a violent crime and if you are convicted will
permanently remain on your driving record. If arrested and/or convicted,
a driver may lose driving privileges and also may be fined and/or
imprisoned. Repeat arrests or convictions may result in greater
penalties.

Arrest and conviction for DUI can be embarrassing, costly and
inconvenient. If arrested, you will be taken to a police station or
county jail. You will be held there until bond is posted. Your car may be
impounded (towed) and forfeited.

IMPLIED CONSENT LAW: When driving on Illinois roadways, you
automatically give your consent to submit to certain tests following
arrest for DUI. These can include breath, blood and/or urine tests to
determine if you were drinking or using any other drug or intoxicating
compound before or while driving. A doctor or registered nurse must
perform the blood test. You may have a qualified person of your own
choosing administer more tests at your own expense.

STATUTORY SUMMARY SUSPENSION LAW: If you are arrested and found to
have a BAC of .08 percent or more and/or any impairing drug in your
system while operating a motor vehicle, your driving privileges will be
suspended for three months. If you refuse to submit to testing, your
driving privileges will be suspended for six months. If you are a second
offender within a five-year period, your privileges will be suspended for
12 months if you fail the test or 36 months if you refuse to test. A test
refusal may be used as evidence against you in the DUI court case. At the
time of arrest, the officer will take your license, and if valid, will
provide you with a temporary receipt allowing you to drive for 45 days.
Your suspension begins on the 46th day from the notice date and will not
be terminated until you pay the reinstatement fee and your record is
updated.

DUI CONVICTION: In addition to a Statutory Summary Suspension, you may
be convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol, other drugs
and/or intoxicating compounds. The first DUI conviction will result in
the loss of your license for a minimum of one year. You also may be fined
up to $2,500 and given a jail sentence of up to one year. If you are
convicted of a second DUI offense within 20 years, you will lose your
license for a minimum of five years. If this is the second offense within
five years, in addition to other fines and penalties, you will be
sentenced to 5 days in jail or 30 days of community service. You also may
be fined up to $2,500 and given a jail sentence of up to one year. A
third conviction, which is a Class 4 felony, will result in the loss of
your license for a minimum of 10 years, a possible one to three years
imprisonment and a fine of up to $25,000. A fourth conviction will result
in the loss of your license for life.

Persons convicted of DUI where the alcohol content was .16 or greater
OR convicted of a DUI while transporting a child under the age of 16, in
addition to the penalties that apply for each conviction, will be subject
to enhanced penalties including additional fines, community service and
jail time.

A DUI also will subject you to high risk auto insurance rates for
three years. Before your driving privileges are restored, you will be
required to undergo an alcohol and drug evaluation and successfully
complete a rehabilitation or an alcohol and drug education program and/or
meet other requirements.

ILLEGAL TRANSPORTATION OF AN ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE OPEN CONTAINER: It is
illegal for anyone to drink alcoholic beverages in a vehicle. Both driver
and passengers may be issued a traffic citation. Passengers on chartered
buses, motor homes, mini motor homes, and limousines are exempt from this
rule. It is illegal to have alcohol in the passenger area of a vehicle if
the container has been opened. If convicted, you may be fined up to
$1000. If there is a second offense within one year, your driver’s
license will be suspended or revoked for one year. Any driver under age
21 also faces loss of driving privileges for the first conviction.

AGGRAVATED DUI: You may be charged with Aggravated DUI if you, as the
driver, are involved in a death or personal injury crash while driving
under the influence; have received a third DUI; committed DUI while
driving a school bus with children; or received a DUI after a previous
history of reckless homicide or Aggravated DUI involving a death. This is
a Class 4 felony punishable by a possible 1-3 years imprisonment (1-12
years if a personal injury was involved) UNLESS involving a death which
is a Class 2 felony, 3-14 years imprisonment (if multiple deaths 6-28
years); felonies carry fines of up to $25,000. The type of offense
involved will determine the length of license revocation.

DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED OR REVOKED LICENSE (FOR DUI, RECKLESS HOMICIDE,
LEAVING THE SCENE OF A FATAL OR PERSONAL INJURY ACCIDENT): If you are
convicted of driving while your license is revoked or suspended for the
above incidences, the suspension or revocation period will be extended.
Your vehicle may be seized and sold at public auction and you will be
faced with a mandatory 10 days in jail or 30 days of community service.
This is a Class A misdemeanor which carries fines of up to $2,500 and
possible jail time of up to one year.

All convictions are Class 4 felonies carrying fines of up to $25,000
and 1-3 years of imprisonment. A second conviction of this violation may
also result in 30 days of jail time or 300 hours of community service. A
third conviction has a mandatory minimum of 30 consecutive days in jail,
a fourth or subsequent conviction requires a minimum imprisonment of 180
days.

ALLOWING SOMEONE UNDER THE INFLUENCE TO DRIVE YOUR VEHICLE: It is
illegal for you to allow someone to drive your vehicle if you know that
person is under the influence. If convicted, you may be fined up to
$2,500 and given a jail sentence of up to one year.

PROVIDING ALCOHOL TO A PERSON UNDER AGE 21: If you are convicted of
providing alcohol to a person under age 21, you may be fined up to $2,500
and given a jail sentence of up to one year and/or your driving
privileges may be suspended under the Illinois Liquor Control Act.

DUI Attorneys


DUI.com | DWI.com

Speak Your Mind

*