West Virginia DUI Attorneys
Get Help From a West Virginia DUI Lawyer or Attorney
Click on your county below or by calling 1-800-852-8005 to find a West Virginia DUI lawyer, but hurry time is important.
If you have been charged with a DUI in West Virginia (Driving Under the Influence), there are two things that you need to consider:
Take your drunk driving charge very seriously.
A conviction for a DUI in West Virginia will have long lasting consequences. A criminal record can affect your employment, your future and your personal freedom.
Hire an experienced West Virginia DUI Lawyer or DUI Attorney who is experienced in West Virginia DUI law.
Understanding the West Virginia DUI laws and courtroom proceedings can be a challenge. Hiring a qualified West Virginia DUI attorney or lawyer from DUI.com who’s practice concentrates on drunk driving defense can make a difference in the outcome of your drunk driving charge. Again, for a West Virginia DUI lawyers or attorneys, call 1-800-852-8005 or simply click the county above to find the right West Virginia DUI attorney that really knows drunk driving defense and the West Virginia DUI law.
Each West Virginia DUI lawyer at DUI.com offers an initial review of your drunk driving charge. Your inquiry is both free and confidential.
To begin fighting your drunk driving charge, use the list above to locate a West Virginia DUI Lawyer in your county who knows the West Virginia DUI laws. But do it now, as time is very critical in a DUI case.
West Virginia First Offender
You are DUI in West Virginia if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .10% or higher. However, a BAC of more than 0.05% but less than 0.10% is considered relevant evidence to presume you were driving with your ability impaired. Therefore, you may still lose your license if your BAC is under the official legal limit of .10%
First Offender Penalties:
1 day to 6 months. Mandatory minimum is 1 day.
$100 to $500 with a mandatory minimum of $100.
6 months to 1 year. Reinstatement Fee: $65
May serve as alternative to imprisonment.
If you are under the age of 21 and any amount of alcohol is found in your system, you will lose your driver’s license for 60 days.
If you are under the age of 18, a DUI offense will result in revocation of your driver’s license until you reach the age of 18 or the applicable statutory period of revocation/suspension, whichever is longest.
Following conviction, all DUI offenders are required to have an alcohol assessment to determine the nature and extent of their alcohol problems. You pay for the assessment.
Education / Treatment
Anytime your license is revoked for DUI, you must successfully complete a prescribed Safety and Treatment program before you will be eligible to reinstate your driving privileges. You will pay any program fees.
If you refuse a breath, blood, or urine test, your license will be suspended for a period of one year. People who refuse to submit to a chemical test must successfully complete an alcohol education or treatment program before their driver’s licenses can be reinstated.
The license suspension penalty can be reduced if you agree to participate in an ignition interlock program.
West Virginia is the only state where the DMV controls and administers the ignition interlock program. The program is voluntary and incentive-based for eligible offenders. To be eligible, offenders who elect to participate must be enrolled in or have completed a safety and treatment program. There is a $25 application fee and the device costs approximately $105. A local insurance company offers discounts for eligible DUI offenders that help to off set the penalty rates by approximately 50%.
Assessment determines the depth of treatment required of first offenders. Phase I consists of three 18-hour components. Phase II (for more serious offenders, normally if your BAC was above .15) consists of group meetings and abstinence testing. Cost varies and you must pay.
Your insurance rates will probably climb considerably, and your insurance carrier may drop you. The rates for family members and sometimes your employer can increase as well.
More Serious Charges
You may be charged with felony DUI (possibly leading to much greater penalties) if you are involved in a crash involving serious injury or death.