Nevada DUI Attorneys
Click where your DUI occurred below or by call 1-800-852-8005 to find a Nevada DUI lawyer, but hurry, time is important.
Select the County or Area where your DUI in Nevada occurred:
If you have been charged with a DUI in Nevada (Driving Under the Influence), there are two things that you need to consider:
Take your DUI charge very seriously.
A conviction for a DUI in Nevada will have long lasting consequences. A criminal record can affect your employment, your future and your personal freedom.
Hire an experienced Nevada DUI Lawyers who are experienced in Nevada DUI laws.
Understanding Nevada DUI laws and courtroom proceedings can be a challenge. Hiring a qualified Nevada DUI attorney or lawyer from DUI.com who’s practice concentrates on drunk driving defense can make a difference in the outcome of your DUI charge. Again, for a Nevada DUI lawyer or attorney, call 1-800-852-8005 or simply click the county above to find the right Nevada DUI attorney that really knows drunk driving defense and the Nevada DUI law.
Each Nevada DUI Lawyer at DUI.com offers an initial review of your drunk driving charge. Your inquiry is both free and confidential.
To begin fighting your DUI charge, use the list above to locate a Nevada DUI Attorney in your county who knows the Nevada DUI laws. But do it now, as time is very critical in a DUI case.
What Happens To First Time Offenders under the Nevada DUI Laws?
Nevada First Offender
You are DUI in Nevada if your blood alcohol is .08% or higher. The limit is .04% for commercial drivers and .02% for drivers under 21. Drivers can be arrested and convicted for DUI with a lower blood alcohol content (BAC) reading or for driving under the influence of controlled or prohibited substances.
The first DUI offense is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. The minimum penalties for first offense are two days in jail or 96 hours of community service, a $200 fine, $70 in court costs, a $60 chemical test fee, and a drunk driving education course, including mandatory attendance at a victim impact panel. If your blood alcohol level was 0.18 or more or you are under the age of 21, you must also pay $100 to have an alcohol evaluation done.
Penalties for a typical DUI first offense:
- Vehicle Impounded
- Two days to six months in jail or community service (48 to 96 hours)
- Fine $400 to $1,000
- Chemical Test Fee $60
- DUI School or Substance Abuse Treatment
- Victim Impact Panel
- License revoked for 90 days
- $65 Reinstatement Fee
- $35 Victims Compensation Civil Penalty
- $21.75 Driver License Fee
- DMV Tests: Vision, Knowledge, possibly Skills
- SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance required for three years
The blood alcohol limit is.02%. Your license will be revoked for 90 days, and you will be subject to criminal penalties (see above). You must pay $100 to have an alcohol evaluation done.
The blood alcohol limit is .04% for commercial drivers, though any detectable amount will affect your driving privileges. License revoked for 90 days. Law enforcement can prohibit any commercial driver from driving for 24 hours if you have blood alcohol of over 0.01 percent.
Revocation Appeal and Reinstatement
You may appeal a revocation through the DMV Office of Administrative Hearings.
License reinstatement is not automatic, even if the criminal charges were reduced or dismissed. You must meet reinstatement requirements and physically obtain a license to regain your driving privilege. A revocation which is not reinstated will remain on
your record indefinitely and you will not be able to obtain a driver license in any state.
At least 8 hours of “DUI school,” either 4 two hour or 1 eight hour session. If your BAC is .18 or higher, you may be required to obtain a Bureau of Alcohol and Drug Abuse evaluation and further counseling (AA or NA), as ordered by the court. The higher your BAC, the more hours you will have to take.
A DMV list of DUI Schools: http://www.dmvnv.com/dlschoolsdui.htm
Driving in Nevada implies consent to be tested you may not refuse. Law enforcement may use reasonable force to obtain blood test if a breath test is refused.
Upon conviction, your insurance rates will probably increase dramatically, and your carrier may drop you, forcing you to find a carrier that offers less coverage for even more money.