Maryland DUI Attorneys Alpert Schreyer
DUI Lawyers in Maryland and DUI Laws
Protecting Your Driving Privileges after a DUI in Maryland
Knowledge, Experience, and Results in Fighting a DUI in Maryland
Call (866) 826-8617 at any time to speak with a Maryland DUI Attorney at the Alpert Schreyer Law Firm and find out how their statewide DUI defense practice can protect you from a drunk driving offense in Maryland.
Click on your county below or by calling (866) 826-8617 to contact a Maryland DUI lawyer at Alpert Schreyer, but hurry because time is important.
Select the county where your Maryland DUI occurred:
Call (301) 880-0868
Toll-Free (866) 826-8617
If you have been charged with a DUI in Maryland, there are two things that you need to consider:
Take your Maryland DUI arrest seriously.
A conviction for a DUI or DWI in Maryland will have long lasting consequences. A criminal record can affect your employment, your future, and your personal freedom.
Hire an experienced DUI Attorney in Maryland.
Understanding the Maryland DUI laws and courtroom proceedings can be a challenge. Hiring a qualified DUI Lawyer in Maryland whose practice concentrates on DUI defense can make a difference in the outcome of your Maryland DUI arrest. Again, for a Maryland DUI lawyer at Alpert Schreyer, call (866) 826-8617 or click on the county where you received your DUI charge.
The Maryland DUI lawyers at DUI.com offer an initial review of your drunk driving charge. Your DUI consultation is free and confidential.
Maryland DUI Laws – Maryland First Offender
Is it DUI or DWI in Maryland?
A Maryland DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol) is a charge reserved for those with a BAC of .08% or higher and can result in penalties such as a one year jail sentence and up to $1,000 in fines. A Maryland DWI (driving while impaired) charge can be given to a driver with a BAC of .07% and penalties can include up to two months in jail and a $500 fine.
Maryland State law mandates the automatic suspension of your driving license for 60 days if you receive a DUI charge and 45 days for a DWI charge.
You must request an administrative hearing within 10 days of the arrest or your driver’s license privileges will be suspended automatically.
Are you Really A First Offender?
In Maryland, a judge can look back at your record for the last ten years. If you had A DUI or DWI offense less than ten years ago, then you are not a first offender.
Maryland DUI Penalties (BAC of .08% and above)
- Up to one year in jail for a first offense.
- Up to two years in jail for a second offense.
- $1,000 for a first offense.
- Up to $2,000 in fines for a second offense.
- License may be suspended automatically ten days after the arrest.
Points on License
- 12 points.
DWI Penalties (BAC of .08% or higher)
- Up to 60 days.
- $500 for first offense.
Points on License
- 8 points.
- Most first offenders with low BACs can get probation. This depends on the judge. The court may wish to see an alcohol evaluation, and to see a sincere desire to learn about alcohol and driving on your part. In less congested, more rural areas, you may get a short jail sentence with probation.
Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device – As a condition of probation, the court may require you to install the device at your expense. An ignition interlock prevents you from operating your vehicle if you have any alcohol in your system. Motor Vehicles Administration (MVA) can offer this as an alternative to longer suspension periods.
Alcohol Education or Treatment – May be required as a condition of probation. You may also be required to attend a driver improvement or an alcohol education program as a condition of reinstatement of your driving privilege.
Under 21 – Drivers under 21 can be charged with drunk driving for almost any traceable amount of alcohol in their system. With a BAC of .02% or higher, the fine can be $500.
Test Refusal – The penalty for refusing a breath, blood, or urine test can result in harsher fines and penalties. A license suspension may occur even if you are not found guilty of using alcohol and driving.
Insurance – You are at risk of much higher insurance rates, or of losing your vehicle insurance coverage completely. The insurance rates of family members or even of your employer are sometimes raised as well.
Penalties Can Be Even Greater – Penalties are even greater if you had a crash that involved serious bodily harm or death, or if the offense occurred while your were transporting someone under 18. If transporting a minor, you may face a fine of up to $4,000 in fines and a prison sentence of up to four years.